Skip main content and go to side navigation

Where am I?

SHHS Students Named Shooting Stars Finalists

January 30, 2013


The Arts Council of Johnson County recently announced the 2013 Shooting Stars Finalists! This year two Spring Hill High School (SHHS) art students have been named as finalists. Megan Hockman (pictured left) is a finalist in the two-dimensional visual art, and Lauren Biggs (pictured right) is a finalist in the three-dimensional visual art category. SHHS art instructors Abby Stallbaumer and Brad Reinking have helped guide the students through their art education. 

Presented by The Arts Council of Johnson County, the Shooting Stars Program honors high school seniors and their arts educators for artistic excellence. Students from more than 25 high schools were nominated to compete in the Shooting Stars Recognition, Scholarship and Awards Program. Nominated by their high school arts teachers, finalists audition or submit a portfolio of work for review by independent judges. All nominated students will be honored and 18 scholarship recipients and 9 teacher honorariums will be announced at the Shooting Stars Gala, on April 7, 2013. The Gala is generously hosted by the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, Performing Arts Series at JCCC, and Johnson County Community College. Since its creation in 1997, the Shooting Stars Program has recognized almost 1,000 students and awarded over $200,000 in college scholarships, and almost $65,000 in teacher honorariums.

« Back to News | Back to the top

Go back to main content | Go back to main navigation